Urinetown, The Musical

Wednesday, Apr 18, 2018 - Sunday, May 6, 2018 at Clarence Brown Theatre Mainstage

Music and
Lyrics by
Mark Hollmann

Book and Lyrics by
Greg Kotis

Directed by
Bill Osetek

CBT Mainstage

“For anarchic, first-rate comic relief, get thee to Urinetown.”
Time Out New York

A water shortage caused by a 20-year drought has led to a government-enforced ban on private toilets. Citizens must use public amenities, regulated by a single malevolent company that profits by charging admission. Deciding he has had enough, a hero plans a revolution!

Winner of three Tony Awards, three Outer Critics Circle Awards, two Lucille Lortel Awards and two Obie Awards, this hilarious musical is a satire on capitalism, populism, bureaucracy, corporate mismanagement, politics, greed, and the musical theatre!

‡ Appears through the courtesy of Actors Equity Association, the Union of Professional Actors and Stage Managers in the United States. ◊ Member of the Stage Directors and Choreographers Society, a national theatrical labor union. ¤ Represented by United Scenic Artists, local USA-829 of the IATSE.